Union Baptist Church
Carrollton & Farmers Branch

Home > Churches > Union Baptist Church

The following articles under the caption appeared in the April 8, 1921, issue of the Dallas Church World:

"The Union Baptist church at Carrollton has the distinction of being the oldest Missionary Baptist church in Dallas county,, and one of the oldest in Texas. It has the following interesting history:

Organized on the 10th day of May, A. D. 1846 by Elder David Myers, who became the first pastor.

The charter members were: J. M. Myers, J. B. Lee, F. Bowles, Letitia Myers, Margaret A. Lee, and Noah Good, who was the first clerk. The church was a member of the Elm Fork Association of United Baptists, which association held its first annual session with the Lonesome Dove church in Navarro county in 1849. The Herald office in Dallas printed the minutes. Some of the early pastors were: Elder John Freeman, Elder Witt and Elder J. M. Myers, the last to whom served the church as pastor for something like 50 years. the second Sunday being the regular meeting day.

This church has been a vital factor in the making of Dallas county, religious history for the past 75 years. Many ministers and other churches have been the outgrowth of its religious zeal. And it is vitally interwoven into the lives of many old and substantial families of Dallas county. W. E. Anderson is the present pastor and R. A. Warner, clerk. The congregation has enjoyed continual growth and esteem of the people. The church affiliates with the Baptist Missionary Association of Texas.

The Carrollton Chronicle - Friday April 15, 1921



Carrollton-Farmers Branch TXGenWeb
Supported by Edward Lynn Williams
Copyright May, 2014